J.C. Moore Online
Current Events from a Science Perspective

The 2012 Environmental Hall of Fame/Shame Winners

This year the Environmental Hall of Fame/Shame contest was carried out on three websites and the votes were combined to determine those who have most affected the environment through word or action.

The 2012 Environmental Hall of Fame Winners:

The winner is President Barack Obama, with 45% of the votes, for his efforts to protect the environment through executive action, such as  mileage standards and addressing air pollution through EPA action.  Award: A little coöperation from Congress, so please write your Representatives.

Runner-up was Dr. Jennifer Francis(36%) for her ground-breaking work tying the loss of Arctic sea ice to a slowing jet stream, deep Rossby Waves, and the resulting (rapid) rise in stalled weather patterns. Article  here.  Paper here: Evidence linking Arctic amplification to extreme weather in mid-latitudes Award: A growing awareness of the link between global warming and severe weather events.

Tied for 3rd and 4th was Neven ( 9%), an amateur scientist, for his Arctic Sea Ice blog . It is a highly accessible blog  focused like a laser on a major planetary system in rapid collapse – bringing it to the attention of an increasing number of people and the media. It includes some amazing computer animations of Arctic satellite imagery and scores of insights from a good number of researchers. Award: A massive number of visitors to his blog.

 The tie was with Arnie Gundersen (9%), for having the courage to broadcast information being censored by main stream media about environmental problems caused by Fukushima nuclear reactors.  Award: A picture of Japanese girls with a signed note thanking him for standing up for them.

The 2012 Hall of Shame Selections:

First place goes to Donors Trust and Donors Capital Fund  (56%), both who fund climate denial activities while allowing donors to remain anonymous and hide their vested interests. According to Robert Brulle on PBS Frontline , “by 2009, about one-quarter of the funding of the climate countermovement of climate change denial is from the Donors Trust and the Donors Capital Fund.”   Prize: An IRS investigation of their of their tax-exempt status.

Runner up was  Dr. James Wanliss (Cornwall Alliance) (22%) ”for equating people who consider the Earth more important than SUVs with those who consider the Earth to be more important than God or our fellow human beings”. The Cornwall Alliance, who published Dr. Wanliss’ book , claims that stewardship is a Green Dragon trying to corrupt the true meaning of religion.  Prize: An opportunity to clean up the mess they helped make of the Earth, as described in this article.

There was a tie for 3rd and 4th place between The Professional ENGO, Green Washer/Opportunists (9%), that use climate change as an agenda tool for political gain. Particularly those on this list which still invest in fossil fuels.  Prize: Worthless paper as their investments lose value as we switch to sustainable resources.


Japanese Prime Minister Noda (9%),  for dumping the “Zero Nuke” policy.Prize: A partly filled out employment application for work at TEPCO’s Fukushima No. 1 where there is a labor shortage. 

It is important that we keep in mind those who are heroes and villains to the environment. I wish to thank those who provided the nominations, the prize suggestions, the insightful and often humorous comments, and the votes to determine the winners. As this year goes by, please take note of those you wish to nominate for the 2013 awards.

(c) 2013 J.C. Moore


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

No Responses to “The 2012 Environmental Hall of Fame/Shame Winners” »

  1. admin Says:

    One enterprising blogger suggested we should give Dr. Jennifer Francis a huge ice machine as her prize.

Leave a Comment